DRESDEN LOVELINESS

Hello my lovelies. I hope you’ve all had an enjoyable day. It’s been sunny in my little world, making me a very productive happy stitcher. I had the good foresight to do some cooking earlier in the week so that I could do some sewing and prep work during the days.

Since my latest finish, I have concentrated on prepping some new blocks for my Moving Forward project …..

 DSCN9557

I even managed to flash up my sewing machine to piece a Dresden Plate Block today. This will be included in my Moving Forward project. I love piecing Dresden Plates. Very easy block to piece but rather effective. The most difficult part of this block was choosing fabrics. Once I chose the fabric I traced the Dresden blade template and rotary cut the shapes …..

DSCN9567

And then I did some chain piecing …..

DSCN9568

You will note that I press guideline in my background fabric in an X shape in order to help me centre my Dresden Plate …..

DSCN9571

Here’s a little sneaky peek with the centre covered up with the fabric circle …..

 DSCN9575

I will tack the Plate in place and eventually do the fine hand appliqué stitching to secure the patches in place. I love a good old Dresden fix.

It’s been a lovely day in my little world. I got a sneaky peek at my Sarah’s designs. She’s doing so well. Since getting an exceptional grade for her dissertation, she seems to have found a whole lot of inspiration. I hope she’ll do well in life. For Sarah, the sky’s the limit. She just needs to keep putting the hard work in.

So, that’s my report for today. I hope you all have a fabulous evening doing some creative. Until next time, 

Let’s all keep on stitching 

Lucie x   

8 thoughts on “DRESDEN LOVELINESS

    1. Hi Anne, I must try my hand at soft girlie colour combos more often. That’s something I haven’t done much of because I shared a house with a man for so long. Now I can choose as I please. I’ll be shopping for more interesting colour combinations. Thanks for popping in x

      Like

  1. Pamela

    Lovely to hear you are both making great progress. Sometimes we need something like a good grade to really believe in ourselves. I hope it gave Sarah a confidence boost!

    Like

    1. Hi Pamela, we’re live and kicking. Sarah is producing some lovely prints which can be used on fabric and paper. I see a bright future if she works hard to get there. Thanks for popping in x

      Like

    1. Hi Susan, I’m going to add more pink to everything now. It’s a colour that I didn’t use much of because I use to share a home with a man. Now I can choose any colour I want without worry. Thanks for popping in today Susan x

      Like

I'd love to hear from you, please feel free to leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.