BUSY ON A BANK HOLIDAY

Hello my lovelies. I hope you’re all having a relaxing. It’s a holiday here din the UK on account that it’s Good Friday. I must admit that it doesn’t feel like a bank holiday. My Sarah should be winding her way home from Manchester as I write this post.

I kept busy all day by running some errands this morning; just normal things like filling the car, buying dog food and popping in to my local DIY shop of some replacement decking tiles. Nothing of any great consequence but stuff that needed to be purchased to move forward. Once I got home, I disappeared into my sewing room to start stitching the quilt I loaded into my longarm system last evening …

DSCN0025

After I added this little dog to the bottom corner of the quilt top …..

DSCN0034

I think he adds a little character to the quilt even if he is just a wee one.

Using a nice steel grey thread and a quilting design called Pieces of My Heart by Melonie J. Caldwell, I stitched until the job was done. I think it looks pretty good. I went on to find some fabric for the binding and I hope to be able to hand finish the binding on the back of the quilt this weekend. It feels good to be able to say that for all intents and purposes it’s a wrap. I’m getting quite adept at designing simple quilts and bringing them to fruition in good time.

DSCN0031

Sunday is Easter. And Easter weekend has always been the time when we do a good spring tidy in the garden. If the weather s reasonable I plan of raking and brushing the dead growth and wind-swept litter out of my garden. I kicked the big spring tidy off by replacing the decking tile with a new one. The old one was just hanging in by a thread. I’m sure it was at least 15 years old. So I popped over to my local DIY shop first thing to see if I could find a replacement. I found just the thing.  The best part is that a lovely gentleman offered to help me load it into the car!!! I dragged the old decrepit decking tile away and prepared the gravel and laid the new decking tile in it’s place. It will take a few days for it to bed in and level out. It was just a simple job that I knew I could do by myself. Every little job I accomplish builds my confidence. So, my backdoor looks tidy once again. I’m looking forward to planting up my troughs and containers but as there’s still a chance of frost, I’ll put it off for a few weeks.

DSCN0028

So, I guess that’s my report for today. I’m looking forward to having a quiet weekend. I have plenty of hand sewing I can get done and I would like to draw a couple of new blocks as well. I hope you all have a super relaxing weekend. Until next time,

Let’s all keep on stitching.

Lucie x  

10 thoughts on “BUSY ON A BANK HOLIDAY

  1. This is the new woman!! LOL
    The quilt is beautiful. The back yard is tidy and ready to move one with.
    Easter is upon us with renewed energy and hope for all.
    Wishing you, your daughter, Maisie and all your friends who visit on line…
    A Blessed Easter.
    Joanna and my little white Basile. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Nicola, Diane’s quilt looks fab now that the quilting is done and the binding and label have been added. I’ll be int touch regarding handover. Thanks for popping in x

      Like

  2. Beth

    I love the Pieces of My Heart quilting pattern. It looks great on the red and black quilt!.

    Thank you for the applique tutorial Lucie! I haven’t had a chance to try it yet but I will soon! I think I will like the technique. I have been frustrated with the sharp points that develop on my curved edges and I think your method will help. Yay!

    Easter blessings to all!

    Like

    1. Hi Beth, I’m hoping to do another but of description regarding the fine hand applique stitching that secures all the patches in place permanently. Thanks for popping in x

      Like

  3. I hope the weather cooperated with your outdoor plans. We are catching a day of sun and no wind followed by 2 or 3 days of rainy. Just when you think you can plan an outdoor day, it turns cold again. I need a few warm days in a row to get my garden cleaned up. The leaves have really collected ! I love the puppy in the corner of that quilt. Great colors. The soft curving quilting is perfect ! Happy Easter Monday!

    Like

    1. Hi Mary, the weather has turned nasty here but I used the time have an adventure in my sewing room!!! You can read about in today’s post. Thanks for popping in. Happy Easter to you and yours x

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you, please feel free to leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.