CATCHING UP ON A VERY WET TUESDAY

Hello my lovelies. I hope you’ve all had a peaceful day. It’s been raining pretty much all day here. I stepped out for lunch and a sewing session today and got wet every time I got out of the car!!! I sure hope it dries out over night because I have another outing tomorrow.

I had a delicious lunch with Anne at the Carnaby Café in Brownieside. It’s a café that I have known about for a while but never had the chance to go. After lunch we went back to Anne’s for a little sewing and a catch up. To transport my sewing project, I dragged out and emptied a box …..

DSCN0116

And filled it with a few bits which I prepped even before I had my breakfast …..

DSCN0121

By the end of the afternoon I had prepped this …..

DSCN0127

The light wasn’t very good for photography but I thought I’d publish the shots of my progress for today anyway.

DSCN0124

When I was searching for a small project box, I chose the one that was the emptiest. This particular box contained these bits from sometime ago. In fact, there was a note in the box dated 2013!!! Now that I have found this UFO I feel compelled to finished it! I figure I probably have enough fabric squares here to make a baby quilt. The two blocks which were pieced way back in 2013 were pieced by hand. So, I guess I’ll finish piecing the blocks by hand. I can adopt this as my armchair project alternating between my hexagons and fine hand appliqué projects.

DSCN0130

So, that was my day. I got out and about while still doing a little bit of sewing. There’s something about hand sewing, chatting and drinking coffee that seem to go hand in hand. I had a very relaxing day thanks to Anne. It was great to get out and do something different. So, I guess that was my report for today. I hope you all have a super cosy evening doing something you truly enjoy. Until next time,

Let’s keep on stitching.

Lucie x

13 thoughts on “CATCHING UP ON A VERY WET TUESDAY

  1. Hi Lucie, what a lovely day you have had, I told you yesterday, only the best….ha ha. Friendship, chatting, lunch and enjoying a shared passion. Doesn’t get much better than that, right? Pretty box. Another good block and the fabrics from the past are so so pretty, soft, gentle, I am sure some young new mother would adore having a quilt from this. Especially a young single mum. Imagine how special she would feel? Just a thought…
    Enjoy your life, Lucie. Good things are coming.
    Joanna.xxx

    Like

    1. Hi Joanna, I agree that some young mother would love to have a quilt in those soft colours for her little girl. It will be a pleasure to hand stitch the squares together by hand. The colours are relaxing. I’m feeling more like the Lucie I was before I got married, a bit carefree and a lot happier. Thanks for popping in x

      Like

      1. April showers bring May flowers..remember that saying???? You will never ever guess what we had yesterday…SNOW!!!!! then the sun came out. REALLY???? Cold today again, I know when May comes it will be so hot, we could wear shorts and sandals. I have been looking at lap quilts for a friend who had polio and is chair bound. Nice for when she gets out more. All will work out in the end, dear heart, takes a lot of getting used to, that is all. Just relax.
        Have a good one, Lucie.
        Joanna. xx

        Like

      2. Hi Joanna, SNOW??? It’s April! I guess we’re getting enough showers for both of us. I was glad to get out of the rain last night. Your friend is very lucky that you’re looking at lap quilts for her. Are you planning on piecing one for her?

        Like

  2. Seems like a good way to spend a wet day without staying at home & nice to catch up with a friend for coffee, chat & sewing. A baby quilt for the charity perhaps? Just finished the 2 I’ve been working on last night, that now need winging their way to Yorkshire for our two newest great nephews & then I’ll make a start on one for my Doctor who is due with her first in July. Take care.

    Like

    1. Hi Susan, A baby quilt sounds like the perfect thing to turn my little UFO into. The colours are soft and girly. It will be a pleasure to hand sewing this little top. Thanks for popping in today x

      Like

  3. Yes, but I have been researching some and find the dimensions.. how it fits due to length, the wheels etc, are quite different than making a regular one. Also, it is an electric chair, she wants to get out with her husband who bikes with her. Anyone out there ever made one? Could use help Lucie. Anyone???
    Thanks,
    Joanna.xx

    Like

    1. Hi Joanna, I will post an appeal for info about making a lap quilt suitable for electric wheel chair. Let’s hope someone comes forward with some ideas. I have no idea where to start without dimensions. Cross your fingers x

      Like

I'd love to hear from you, please feel free to leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.